Syrup – Sweat Shop

Artist: Syrup
Title: Sweat Shop
Cat No: CPT 059-1
Format: 12″


Info: SYRUP is the latest side-project of Munich-based musician- and producer collective, which members are live musicians and studio-actives since more then a decade. They jam together and produce different projects. The members of this 100% live-disco-formation are also involved in well-known acts such as Beanfield, The Poets Of Rhythm, Germany’s rare groove band No.1 (watch out for their new forthcoming (4.) album on Quannum/Mo´Wax, due this fall!), Das Goldene Zeitalter (Max Weissenfeldt), Bassline Members (Jan Krause of Beanfield and DJ Linus) or Space Clique, which has recorded tracks for famous Bavarian label Spinning Wheel Records.
Syrup is the off-spring of the long trained and long lived funky Poets Of Rhythm. They come from the Rare Groove School, and they took the occasion to combine their creativity with the tradition of the legendary “Munich Disco Sounds” of the late 70´s and early 80´s – remember Moroder and Munich Machine! The result is a fine blend of discofied old-school Funk, 100% live played with four-to-the-floor beats, Lo-Fi funk, horn-sections and nice guitar licks.
This 12inch is the first single release from the upcoming Syrup album (out later this year on Compost Records) back to back with a funky afro-house remix by the Bassline Members (Jan Krause from Beanfield and housemaster DJ Linus). They have had several releases on Compost house-subsidiary Compose!
There are even more in the pipeline: remixes by Compost’s fantastic Les Gammas, Ralf Gum, and O.C.B. (which is Jan Weissenfeldt and few guys from Quannum, San Francisco).
SYRUP… a tasty pleasure for your ears & your feet!

Syrup are:

Jan Krause: Bass
Jan Weissenfeldt: Guitar
Max Weissenfeldt: Drums
Boris Geiger: Percussion
Till Sahm: -Keyboards, Rhodes etc
Wolfgang Schlick: Saxophone, Flute
Michael Voß: Trumpet
Martin Majewski: Trumpet
Julia: Vocals


Comments are closed.